2017: From Realization to Actualization

kyliejennerrealizingstuff
Kylie Jenner’s iconic statement about 2016

Who knew that Kylie Jenner summed up 2016 perfectly during her New Year Resolution interview last January? I’ll admit that her statement initially made me think that it was a very unsubstantial answer. But as the year comes to an end, I could not have described it any better.

Just so you could have a background before I get to the main point, it’s crucial to know that 2015 was the worst year of my life to date. It wasn’t bad during the first half, actually. During that time, I was happily climbing the ladder of success. I managed to lead two big events at school, get an internship in a dynamic, cool advertising firm, and somehow see myself leading my own organization. It may not be much for other people, but hey– the definition of success is relative, right? Then came the drastic moment that literally changed my life (if you know me well, you’d get what this is). Everything that I worked on might as well have minimized to nothing–and that broke me. I kid you not when I say that it broke me. I am a very career-driven person and having all that taken away from me made me so depressed that I vividly remember a time that I was crying at school alone on a bench late at night. I don’t even have to mention all those countless suicidal thoughts that I’ve had because of it. Since that bleak phase that I was having, I avoided literally everyone. After a long, long reflection and a massive encouragement from my friends, I finally moved on come late December. I told myself that “this 2016, I will bounce back. I will not let fallbacks drag me down forever.” And I did.

In full contrast to 2015, 2016 became the best year ever. Nothing “incredible” exactly happened, but it’s probably just because after what felt like shit, my life finally got back on track. My 2016 was filled with realizations that came from a lot of trial and errors which made me sure of what I really want in life. Questions like “What am I supposed to be doing?”, “What is my passion?”, or “Who/What do I want to keep in my life?” were answered thanks to every single moment of this year. Here are some highlights just to elaborate:

  1. Transferring to CSB – I love La Salle and I would not have grown as the person that I am now if it weren’t for my stay in DLSU. Unfortunately, I had to transfer to CSB. I honestly thought my options in life or in my career would become limited, but I am pleasantly surprised that I can actually see that more opportunities are lying ahead. By January, it’s going to be my second term in Benilde and I am looking forward to it.
  2.  Work Experiences – Big part of my realizations came from all the internships and school organizations that I’ve had and I’m having. I got to develop/earn some skills, fully understand what I can and cannot do, and more importantly, find out what actually makes me happy (aka passion). As you may have noticed, I developed a thing for writing and social media.
  3. Friendships – Words cannot express how much I value and give my trust to my friends. So imagine my heartache when I lost three dear friends of mine (one specifically with someone who has been my best friend for around 8 years) because they suddenly don’t like me anymore. I know I can be a temperamental brat, but that’s who I am. If they don’t like me, I won’t compromise my identity. That paid off because I finally secured myself around friends who appreciate me for me. And that is a much better feeling that keeping fake people in my opinion.
  4. Family – I always had a rocky relationship with my family, but I am glad that things are ironing out for us this year. We’re closer to each other now to the point I can feel the love and care even more and we get to really talk which helps us understand the feelings of one another. This made a big change in my perspective because I want to dedicate all my hard work to them. 100%.

If you’ve noticed, it wasn’t much of a bed of roses. But one thing I am sure of is that I am genuinely happy and proud of what I’ve done. A different kind of joy and comfort just comes out when you’re assured of things– all those overthinking, doubts, and irrational fears disappear.  With that being said, I can say with confidence that I am ready for 2017. I am beyond done feeling sorry for myself and being helpless. I am done chasing the wrong people/things. I am done playing safe and staying in my comfort zone. I am pass all that. This 2017, I would turn all those realizations into a more concrete actions. I already laid down all the needed foundations, secured myself with what I need and want; all that’s left to do is to just go out and do it. No more what-ifs.

2017 would be the year I achieve my dreams/plans. I had 12 months to prepare for this and now another 12 to finally do something bigger. I am well aware that this would entail a lot of possible risks, rejections, and even heartbreaks, but I just know it’s going to be worth it and I’m excited for how this would all turn out.

Now I challenge you to do the same: turn this year’s realizations into next year’s actualization. May 2017 be better than the last.

How was your 2016?
What will you do this 2017?
Will Kylie Jenner make another prophecy for next year?

Comment or share your thoughts!

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Suki says:

    YAAAAY, JP!! (Di ako FC, pramis, proud lang ako hahaha) Congrats again on bouncing back really well from such bad times! I like seeing how much stronger, happier, and more confident you are now, and I wish you all the best this year! I hope you don’t mind me reading your blog every now and then hehe You write well! 🙂

    Like

    1. This means so much to me, Suki!! 😦 Same to you! To better days ahead! Haha yes go lang I would appreciate the support ❤

      Like

  2. Macky Magno says:

    “I am beyond done feeling sorry for myself and being helpless. I am done chasing the wrong people/things.” cant believe im saying this, but i hope id be able to do this too!

    Like

    1. Super sure kaya mo din yan. Kayang kaya! Alam mo na lahat ng gusto ko sabihin haha

      Like

  3. Hello, kind stranger! You don’t know how much this means to me. People like you– encouragements like yours– are one of the reasons why I want to pursue this blog.

    Will definitely try to keep up with contents like this. Please keep on reading! Much love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

