3 Things You Need to Understand About Time

It has been a very, very busy month. Initially, I thought I could write weekly without fail, but I guess I miscalculated the gravity of the things I signed up for. Not that I’m complaining– definitely not. I’m actually grateful for all the things that are keeping me busy nowadays. I am, however, contemplating about how I don’t have enough time for myself given all the things that are happening.

“Is what I’m doing worth it in the long run?”
“If it is, do I even need to take a break?”

Those are just some of the questions I’ve been asking myself repeatedly during the many times I’m working on something. As I realize that tomorrow is already February, I decided to drop everything I am doing just for tonight since I don’t want to move forward to another month without resolving this. Besides, I want to update this blog of mine since I committed to pursue it as part of my 2017 project. So right after class, I went to a cafe and started pondering about how I’m doing. It’s no Sagada or a walk by the beach, but this is as good as soul searching can get in the busy, fast-paced metro.

Now with much contemplation and a cup of coffee, here are some things I’ve come to realize about time:

1. Time does not wait for anybody. Whatever you do with your time, there’s no getting it back.

There are only 24 hours in a day, 7 days in a week, and 12 months in a year. You would be surprised how fast time could pass by as I was when I realized that it is already February tomorrow. Remember that the clock only moves forward and our days are numbered. With that in mind, we should be maximizing everything– grabbing opportunities, making dreams happen, creating lasting memories, and many, many more. “Carpe Diem“, as they say.

If you’re worried that what you’re investing your time in is just a mistake, don’t. Life is all about learning from mistakes. Regretting something, on the other hand, is entirely different. It’s always better to try something and knowing it was a mistake than never trying it and knowing the outcome at all.

Lesson: Never waste your time.

2. Where you allot your time will define you.

What do you want to be?  What do you want to have?  Ask yourself these and you will know what to prioritize. From there, it will be easier to figure out what to focus on. In my case, I want to publish my own book one day. To achieve that, I make it a point to spend at least 30 minutes reading a novel daily and to write one chapter every two weeks.

Some dreams may require extra effort. Now if that dream of yours entails a big sacrifice, just make sure you really want it. Here’s a picture that struck me deeply:

inspiring

Basically, just be prepared for the consequences of what you signed up for. If you want it, don’t be afraid to shell out money. If you want it, don’t be afraid that you’re missing out a lot when you see them having fun on Facebook. If you want it, don’t be afraid to experience failure and hardship. Every great thing demands great sacrifice. This can also be a warning to be careful on how you spend your time. If you are unproductive, reaching your goal would be a lot more difficult or in the worst case scenario, impossible.

Lesson: Every action molds our future.

3. Life doesn’t have to be busy all the time.

This one is my last point, but it’s definitely not the least. I cannot stress how important I believe taking a break is. I know it’s always good to exert tremendous effort in every action, and I find that admirable. If you continue working hard, success would be in your grasp sooner or later. But people need to realize that focusing too much on something can be unhealthy. They may have to deal with losing themselves along the way, losing their purpose eventually, and even losing other people and dreams in exchange for just chasing one thing.

Schedule a date with your friends. Watch a movie with your family. Treat yourself for a job well done and reevaluate yourself if you’re still on track with your goals. Life may be short, but going through it day by day can also make it seem like we have all the time in the world, right? If you think of it that way, it wouldn’t hurt to spend a day or two with the people or things you love.

Lesson: Take a break once in a while.

I am honestly thankful I decided to write this amidst all my workload. With that, I think I’m ending January on a  really nice note. I hope you do, too, kind reader!

Leave a Reply

